Brian Wilson Records Gershwin

Beach Boys co-founder Brian Wilson has completed work on his debut album for Disney Pearl titled Brian Wilson Reimagines Gershwin.

The CD features the timeless hits: “S’Wonderful,” “I’ve Got A Crush On You,” and “Summertime.” Wilson opens and closes the album with an a capella version of the 1924 orchestral piece “Rhapsody in Blue.”

Paired with the classics are two new songs – “The Like in I Love You” and “Nothing But Love.” Wilson wrote both songs after listening to hundreds of piano demos made available to him by the family estate. Some of the melodies had remained untouched since George Gershwin’s death in 1937.

Brian Wilson Reimagines Gershwin will be available August 17 with a special vinyl edition set for release August 24.

In a released statement, the Hall of Fame composer said, “Along with Irving Berlin, Gershwin basically invented the popular song, but he did something more. He had a gift for melody that nobody has ever equaled, yet his music is timeless and always accessible. This is the most spiritual project I’ve ever worked on.”

Brian Wilson Reimagines Gershwin track list:                                

1. Rhapsody in Blue/Intro
2. The Like in I Love You
3. Summertime
4. I Loves You Porgy
5. I Got Plenty of Nothin
6. It Ain’t Necessarily So
7. S Wonderful
8. They Can’t Take That Away from Me
9. Our Love is Here to Stay
10. I’ve Got a Crush on You
11. I’ve Got Rhythm
12. Someone To Watch Over Me
13. Nothing But Love
14. Rhapsody in Blue/Reprise

Comments are closed.